Jon Jon Lannen on ‘The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh’: “The book I wish I had as a kiddo”

INTERVIEW

Jon Jon Lannen is a writer, actor & director living in Denver, Colorado. Jon Jon has been performing improv comedy for over ten years and wants everyone to fall in love with the art of improvisation. Jon Jon writes and performs regularly. He formerly co-founded and ran FORK Productions, along with executive produced the Denver Improv Festival. Lannen has performed and taught in improv festivals across the country, including Chicago, Colorado Springs, Denver, Los Angeles, New Orleans, New York City and Oklahoma City.

Jon_Jon_and_Co_logo

Jon Jon Lannen currently owns and operates Jon Jon & Co. and is the author of the award-winning book, The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh. Lannen is also adjunct faculty, teaching improvisation, at numerous schools throughout the state.

Jon_Jon_Lannen

– OK, I read your bio but I still have one more question to ask. Who exactly is Jon Jon Lannen?

“Wow! We’re getting right into it, aren’t we? I dig it. Jon Jon Lannen is me! I currently live in Denver humbly doing what I love: writing, teaching and performing improvisational theater.

– How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“Since I was young, I’ve always loved writing. I decided there was a need in the book industry for a children’s book about improv comedy. I was an improviser for as long as I can remember; I just didn’t know what it was called yet. The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh is the book I wish I had as a kiddo!”

– Was getting published hard?

“Yes and no. The publishing world is a fierce industry. As long as you have the drive, know your resources and won’t take no as an answer, you will get your work published.”

– What genre is your book?

“The book is children’s literature, focusing on the performing arts. I’d also love it if readers would provide a review on Amazon to let others know how much you all love The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh. Word of mouth help indie authors more than you know.”

– What are your current projects?

“My team and I recently launched our new home on the world wide web, jonjonandco.com. The Jon Jon & Co. site is the place to find out anything about me and upcoming projects.”

Jon_Jon_Chris_and_Kathie_J_on_Everyday

– What’s next for you?

“What’s next for me? Currently casting for season four of andCo, a Whose-Line-Is-It-Anyway style improvisation show. I am also wrapping up publication on my next book, The Giraffe and Cheetah Taught Me Theater. The book will be out nationwide at most major retailers in 2016.”

– Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule for this interview.

“Thank you for taking the time to sit with me. I really appreciate the support!”

The_Giraffe_That_Taught_Me_How_To_Laugh_cover

For more information on the author and Jon Jon & Co: www.jonjonandco.com

To purchase the book on Jon Jon & Co: www.jonjonandco.com/apps/webstore/

To purchase the book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Giraffe-That-Taught-Laugh/dp/1449059309

Leave a Reply

