It Takes Guts To Be Happy: Julia Loggins on how to detoxify and recharge your life

INTERVIEW

Julia Loggins is a colon wellness expert and author, from Santa Barbara, CA.

Julia has had a private practice for over 30 years and wrote her first book, Dare To Detoxify, in 2012. Julia’s second book, It Takes Guts To Be Happy! A 21-Day Cleansing Plan to Heal Your Belly & Recharge Your Life, will be published this month.

Julia Loggins in her Santa Barbara home.

Julia Loggins in her Santa Barbara home.

Recently I had the pleasure to have a little chat with Julia and here is what we talked about:

– Julia, how did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“I’ve always loved writing. I co-wrote my first book with my former husband, Kenny Loggins, in 1998, and that experience reminded me how much I loved writing. But writing about my passion, gut health, has been the most fun I’ve had.”

DTD3DBookcover0212112014

– Was getting published hard?

“I made the decision to self-publish when I met my publishing mentor, Deborah Nelson, of Inspired Living Books. I knew that I wanted to own my books and be in charge of the marketing. It’s been an incredible experience that has taught me so much more than I could have imagined.”

– Are your characters based on people you know?

“My books are non-fiction, written to motivate, educate and inspire. In my first book, I created composite characters, and I told their stories of healing in the third person. In my new book, I asked my clients to write their stories themselves, in the first person. I believe it’s much more powerful.”

– What genre are your books?

“My books are non-fiction, and the subject is health, happiness and well-being. The stories my clients shared were about healing life-threatening illnesses and diseases, using my program as a part of their wellness protocol.”

– Which of your books is your most favourite?

“Doesn’t every author love their newest book best?!”

– Do you have a specific writing routine?

“I have a full-time healing practice, so I write in the morning before I see clients, at night, at the end of my day, and on the weekends. When I’m in the heat of writing, it’s all I want to do…but I do find that my work informs my writing in a very beneficial way.”

ITGH3D121014

– What are your current projects?

“Since my new book is just coming out, my current project is shepherding it out into the world… speaking engagements, interviews and of course, my blog, all to support the book’s success.”

– What’s next for you?

“Definitely another book! I have a few subjects I’ve been wanting to tackle in the area of women’s health that have not seen the light of day, and deserve to, so I’ll choose one (or more!) and start my next book within this year.
I have a book I’d like to write, inspiring women who own their own businesses, that’s on my list. And, maybe one of these days, I’ll try a novel.”

BOOKS BY JULIA LOGGINS

Dare to Detoxify on Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Dare-Detoxify-Volume-Julia-Loggins/dp/0615601189

It Takes Guts to Be Happy BRAND NEW BOOK

https://www.createspace.com/5169552

GET JULIA LOGGINS’ FREE TIPS TO YOUR INBOX

21 Days of Happy-Gut tips

http://www.daretodetoxify.com/landingpage/happy-gut-tips

41JCdakJojL__UX250_
AUTHOR BIO

Julia Loggins was born in Hollywood, CA in March of 1955, and began the study of holistic medicine by saving her own life, after a childhood of life-threatening illness and disease, including asthma, rheumatoid arthritis, bleeding ulcers and blood sugar issues.

Julia Loggins embraced the world of regenerative medicine and the understanding of stress and toxicity as the source of illness and disease. She embarked on a living foods diet, wheatgrass therapy, juice fasting and other forms of detoxification. She studied for two years at the Hippocrates Health Institute, then in Boston, with Dr. Ann Wigmore, doctors Brian and AnnaMarie Clement and Viktoras Kulvinskas. She completed the Health Educator’s Course there in 1982. She studied with psychiatrist Dr. Ernest Pecci, whose work is now being carried on at the Hoffman Institute in Northern California, exploring the mind-body connection and the understanding of how family patterns affect health and well-being. In 1983, she became a certified colon therapist and opened a private practice in Santa Barbara, CA.

Having been told by doctors that she would never have children, and after having four miscarriages, Ms. Loggins studied with Niravi Payne, a pioneer in the field of the mind/body connection to fertility. Following her study, she gave birth to two healthy children, now 17 and 21, and became certified in Ms. Payne’s method.

Ms. Loggins wrote her first book on health, Dare to Detoxify, in 2012, the culmination of over three decades of work in the holistic medical field, with a specialty in detoxification, digestive and autoimmune disease. She has a private practice in Santa Barbara, California, and lectures and teaches nationally.

Ms. Loggins believes there can be no black and white thinking with regards to our health, focusing on a team-centered strategy for healing, aligning with both allopathic and alternative medical doctors and practitioners. The Mission of her work is to bring to as many people as possible the understanding that gut health is intrinsic to vitality and happiness; if our gut is happy, we’re happy.

Leave a Reply

