Maren Higbee on the awarded ‘Lana Fray and the Grand Plan’ and her ‘Modern Workplace’

INTERVIEW

Maren Higbee (Patterson) is an Emmy nominated producer and writer. Some of her most favorite career highlights include working on The Deadliest Catch, Oprah’s Big Give, and Jockeys. After many years in the industry, she decided to update her skills received her Masters in Digital Communications from the University of Washington in June of 2015.

Maren celebrated her most recent success when her book Lana Fray and the Grand Plan’, released in 2014, won the 2015 Indie Book Reader award for the Chick-lit category.

Recently I had the pleasure to have a little chat with Maren and I had so much fun that I can’t wait to share her interview with you.

Here we go…

Maren

– Who exactly are you?

“I’m a risk taker, a dog lover, an art collector, and a storyteller. I have loved telling stories since I was a kid. Always fascinated with the twists and turns in both life and art. Because of this love, I went to Film School at Ithaca College then moved to LA and began a career in television and film. While working on shows were I was risking my life like Deadliest Catch, meeting people in crisis like on Oprah’s Big Give or stumbling around trying too hard to find a husband, I began to create story. This story slowly morphed, with the help of my very talented editor, into Lana Fray and the Grand Plan.”

– How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“After numerous bad dates in the early days of internet dating, I felt inspired to tell an uplifting story about the desire to find Mr. Right in the rough dating world of today. It is astonishing how goofy I could get on dates when I was attracted to men as well as to see how men reacted when they were trying so hard to impress. I mean napkin penis’ and oven mitts? But to be fair I was so busy focused on Mr. Right that I forgot to see if I even liked the men I was dating. Lucky for me, I have met my Mr. Right!”

– Was getting published hard?

“I started out biased thinking that self-publishing would not be a good option for me. After receiving a call in response to sending in my manuscript from a very gracious publisher where I was informed that the days of publishers buying unknown writers was over I took her advice and decided to self-publish and make my dream come true.”

– Are your characters based on people you know?

“Very loosely based. I found inspiration in many people and situations from my own life, but no characters are just one person in my life, they are all combinations of people and personality characteristics I saw in my friends and colleagues.”

LanaAward

– What genre is your book?

Lana Fray and the Grand Plan is the winner of the 2015 Indie Reader award in the Chick-Lit category. So I would say, Chick-lit!”

– Which of your books is your most favourite?

“Since I have only published one, I would say Lana Fray and the Grand Plan…but keep your eyes out next Fall/Winter for the next in the four part series.”

– Do you have a specific writing routine?

“Yes, I try to write every day. I don’t win this battle because I am also still producing videos but I try.”

– What are your current projects?

“I currently produce a business talk show called Modern Workplace which hosts leading innovators from multiple businesses. I am also writing the second book in the Lana Fray series.”

– What’s next for you?

“I love to do so many things that I am always knee deep in many projects, but for now my next goal is to grow the audience for Modern Workplace as well as to finish all four novels in the Lana Fray series. Then I may move into another series I have started called the naïve traveler.”

Maren_hair

 ABOUT Maren Higbee (Patterson)

Maren is an Emmy nominated producer and writer – having experience working with TV networks, large corporations, and agencies. Some of her most favorite career highlights include working on The Deadliest Catch, Oprah’s Big Give, and Jockeys. After many years in the industry, she decided to update her skills received her Masters in Digital Communications from the University of Washington in June of 2015.

Though originally from the Pacific Northwest, the desire to work in production and film took her to the East Coast to pursue her education in that field. Upon graduation, she immediately moved to the pulse of the L.A. scene to follow her dream of writing and directing films. Her adaptable style and creative nature got her into quickly learning new skills like crafting pitch packets, writing branded content, developing budgets, overseeing project timelines, and managing vendor relationships.

After a few years working on a variety of projects, she found herself entrenched in the brand new Reality TV business. Maren’s passion for telling others’ true-to-life stories inspired her to write a fictional novel as a reflection of actual occurrences in her life as a single, successful professional. What she calls her labor of love has become her most recent success by publishing the 2015 Indie Book Reader winner for the Chick-lit category, ‘Lana Fray and the Grand Plan’ released in 2014.

She is currently working as a Producer for Mighty Media Studios based in the Seattle area. Her main project at the moment is an enterprise business talk show for Microsoft called Modern Workplace – which has been nominated for two Emmy Awards in its 2014 season.

Maren is a native of Seattle where she resides with her husband, Brandon, and her four-legged furry love, Napoleon. In her spare time, she enjoys wine tasting, long walks outdoors, and – if you get her on the right day – she’ll even go skydiving.

 BUY LINKS

AMAZON

http://www.amazon.com/Lana-Fray-Grand-Maren-Higbee/dp/1633153290/

KINDLE

http://www.amazon.com/Lana-Fray-Grand-Maren-Higbee-ebook/dp/B00M9O1TXM

AUTHOR WEBSITE

http://www.lanafray.com/#main_slider

FACEBOOK

https://www.facebook.com/lanafraybooks

TWITTER

https://twitter.com/LanaFrayBooks

One thought on “Maren Higbee on the awarded ‘Lana Fray and the Grand Plan’ and her ‘Modern Workplace’

Leave a Reply

