Nick Mackie on ‘Chester and the Eggie Boo’, his latest children’s picture book

INTERVIEW

Nick Mackie is an award winning animator, director, illustrator and writer. He has worked for studios such as Aardman Animations & Picasso Pictures. Nick has won BBC Talent for his animation and a RTS award. His animation films have been shown on BBC, Canal + and others and featured in competition at many international festivals.

Recently I had the honour to have a little chat with Nick and here is what he said to me…

nick_mackie_book_eggie_boo

– Nick, what is your latest book?

Chester and the Eggie Boo’ is my latest children’s picture book. It was published in July and was originally a kickstarter project. It is a 32 page full colour hardback book aimed at pre-school readers.”

– How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“I started writing as I had stories that I wanted to tell that would have taken too long in animation and for which I didn’t have the budget. I was always working on illustrated books and small press comics while working in animation.”

Eggie_boo_press01b

– Was getting published hard?

“Getting published is hard as is getting an agent. So far I have self-published all my books. Thankfully self-publishing has become a respectable way of getting well-made books to the public.”

– Are your characters based on people you know?

“Chester in ‘Chester and the Eggie Boo’ is loosely based on my son who is now five and was inspired by watching him play with his toy trains.”

– What genre are your books?

“I currently write and illustrate children’s picture books.
I have also written on YA novel and am currently writing a second novel which is a crime thriller.”

Eggie_boo_press04

– Which of your books is your most favourite?

“Chester and the Eggie Boo is my favourite at the moment because it’s my most recent and I am really happy with the way the design and illustrations turned out.”

– Do you have a specific writing routine?

“I probably do my best writing in the early morning when everyone else in the house is still asleep. I illustrate or animate during the day.”

mackie_eggie_boo_cover

– What are your current projects?

“I am planning the next in the Eggie Boo series and working on a new picture book.”

– What’s next for you?

“I’m looking at book apps and working out how to go about making one. As an animator it would be great to combine my animation skills with my picture book illustration.”

 

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH NICK MACKIE

http://www.nickmackie.co.uk/

Chester and the Eggie Boo

www.eggieboo.com

Twitter: @nickmackiebook
Facebook: www.facebook.com/eggieboobook

BUY LINKS

For a signed hardback copy of Chester and the Eggie Boo

http://www.eggieboo.com/

Chester and the Eggie Boo at Amazon.co.uk

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Chester-Eggie-Boo-Nick-Mackie/dp/0956329012/

and at Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/Chester-Eggie-Boo-Nick-Mackie/dp/0956329012

 

One thought on “Nick Mackie on ‘Chester and the Eggie Boo’, his latest children’s picture book

Leave a Reply

