Jendela Tryst on the ‘Fallen Immortals Saga’, Greek Myth and Love

INTERVIEW

Jendela Tryst is a closet romantic. She’s smart, clever, has a great sense of humor, but she hides an extremely sensitive and compassionate nature that is afraid to show itself for fear that she’ll be ridiculed.

Jendela is the author of the ‘Fallen Immortals Saga’, a Greek mythology inspired book series that includes two installments (‘Struck: The Myth of Eros and Psyche’, ‘Scorched: Origin of Love Book 2’) with a third (‘Rupture’) coming soon.

authorpic

Recently I had a little chat with Jendela Tryst and, firstly, I asked her to describe herself.

“‘Jendela’ comes from an Indonesian word for ‘window’. ‘Tryst’ has Latin roots, meaning ‘sorrow’. The French translation for ‘secret affair’ is also very relevant,” she explained. “All are sides of Jendela Tryst, sensuous, empathetic, a die-hard romantic who loves love despite living in a world that rewards cynicism and pragmatism. Jendela Tryst is the most authentic, human side of me,” she added.

  • How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“There was no escaping it. The day I realized the hidden treasures behind ‘books with no pictures’ was the day my fate was decided. Finally, there was a use for an overly vivid imagination and the stories that kept popping in my head! I tried to pursue other careers because writing wasn’t worthy in my parent’s eyes and I tried to be the ‘dutiful daughter’. But I wanted to write, even while I studied practical degrees like Economics, and then nursing. Instead of studying for finals, I was writing short stories, poems, narrations, and quick summaries for potential novels. No matter what, my mind always wandered to plots that needed to be organized and characters that needed to speak. It was torture not giving them the time they deserved.”

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00069]

  • Was getting published hard?

“I am an indie author, so it was hard in trying to learn various aspects of publication that had nothing to do with writing itself. I am actually very grateful for my business background because I think it prepared me for some of the more formidable aspects of self-publishing like finance and marketing. Still, the hardest part was dealing with self-doubt. As an independent author, everything is on you and that’s a lot of pressure, especially when dealing with that loud and very obnoxious inner critic. For some of us, that voice can be especially vicious.”

  • Are your characters based on people you know?

“Yes. That is, several aspects of my characters are based on people I know, but not completely. Those closest to me will make claims that they recognize a certain conversation, or certain traits but I try to stay diplomatic about it. I’d hate to offend anyone, especially the ones I love. However, some of the most colorful characters in my life give me endless material so it would be a shame to waste any of it.”

  • What genre are your books?

“I hate labels. It’s one of my things and it’s one of the reasons I wanted to self-publish. I never attempted to send my books to any publishing companies because I was afraid they would force my book into a genre. If I had to simplify, I suppose you could call it a romance. But there is also a lot of adventure in it, and since it’s based on a Greek Myth, it has some philosophy as well. You can’t write about Greek Mythology without sneaking in philosophy, it’s just not possible!”

  • Which of your books is your most favorite?

“I feel like the series ‘Origin of Love’ is really a single book in three books. I loved that I divided them into three books because I think, in many ways, the characters and their love for each other, changed over time. I think of relationships as living, breathing things. It goes through its own different phases and each phase is beautiful in its own way. Struck is about first love. New love. That amazing sensation of being completely surprised and enamored by the person you’re with. Scorched is a more established love, when the person you’re with becomes your best friend and you start understanding and establishing trust and experiencing the highs and lows of life together. Finally, Rupture is what I consider eternal love. The kind that many speak of, but few have ever really seen. It can survive anything. Time, space, betrayal, death, it is everlasting. All of these forms of love matter, and are beautiful in their own way. That’s why I can’t pick a single book; it’s like trying to pick out your favorite color in a rainbow.”

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00070]

  • Do you have a specific writing routine?

“No. I wish I did. I really do. Maybe it’s because I’m just starting out, but really, the only consistent thing I do every day is make myself coffee. After that, it’s up in the air. Sometimes, I just mull around, fiddle on my piano, write a song on the guitar, worry a lot, and if I’m lucky, I’ll reread a few chapters. Then one day, usually when I have the least amount of time or I’m in the middle of a busy highway, driving a long distance, sentences or dialogue will pop up in my head. I have pull over and start dictating to my phone like a crazy person. Or writing on a receipt or napkin, whatever is around.”

  • What are your current projects?

“I am currently working on a retelling of the myth of Hades and Persephone. It’s a sort of prequel to Origin of Love Trilogy. I’ve always been somewhat drawn to the macabre, and Hades, god of the Underworld, is such a different hero from Eros, god of love. Historically, most renditions of Hades has not been very flattering, so I took a lot of liberties and turned him into more of a diabolical, brooding demon lover. He is definitely sexier and less petrifying, yet still the quintessential, misunderstood “bad boy”. What’s there not to love?”

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00070]

  • What’s next for you?

“You know as much as I do. My day job is always waiting for me. Writing will never leave me, that much I’ve accepted, but how quickly I can write and how much time I have to spare to write will be determined mainly by my readers. If they like what I have produced, they’ll buy my work and keep me and my family fed. If they don’t, then, writing will have to be placed in the back burner for a bit. But that’s ok, because I know it will never leave me. In a way, it’s as Democratic as you can get. Everyone votes with his or her dollar. What’s great is that my first two books, Struck and Scorched, will be available for free with Amazon Prime, so really, no one has to spend a dime! My third book, Rupture, will be out in September as well.

What I’m really looking for are others who are as passionate about love stories as I am. I want to find other die-hard romantics so we can continue to inspire each other. Because really, what’s there not to love about love?

I just hope people will give a relatively unknown author with a lot of great stories to tell a chance to keep doing just that.”

We hope that too!

BUY LINKS

Amazon URL:

Struck: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KJKGBV8

Scorched: http://www.amazon.com/Scorched-Origin-Love-Fallen-Immortals-ebook/dp/B00U9PGN2U/

Rupture: Coming Sept 2015

STAY IN TOUCH WITH JENDELA TRYST

Website: www.jendelatryst.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jendela.tryst

Twitter: @JendelaTryst

Leave a Reply

