Kit Miller: the 16-year-old author of ‘Sailor Uncovered’

INTERVIEW

Kit Miller has been an avid writer since her days in elementary school. What began as a weekend hobby quickly escalated into an everyday activity. Her love of writing led her to join her high school’s nationally acclaimed journalism program; VISTAj. She is currently the editor of VISTAj’s website and literary magazine – Periphas. She also works for the commentary website Psycho Drive-In.

“But who exactly is Kit Miller?” I asked Kit in a little chat we had recently.

“I am a 16-year-old girl who loves to learn and tell stories,” she replied.

A few weeks ago Kit celebrated the release of her debut novel called ‘Sailor Uncovered’. This twisting story begins with the murder of a man who victimizes women. The heroine, Sailor, is a survivor but her sister Catherine is not. Sailor tries to prove her innocence for that man’s murder though a maelstrom of chaos caused by his brother, Michael.

FINAL_COVER

– So why did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“When I was in 4th grade I read ‘Hatchet’ by Gary Paulsen. I had always loved reading, but Hatchet was the first book I ever truly got lost in. I wanted to tell meaningful stories like that and inspire others as ‘Hatchet’ inspired me.”

– Was getting published hard?

“Absolutely! With the publishing industry changing and more and more people writing books it’s really hard to get your foot in the door. Taking on new writers is risky, and taking on really young writers with no previous credentials is especially dangerous. My book was rejected 39 times before my current publisher picked it up. I’m thankful for each rejection though; taking the easy way has never been my style.”

– What genre is your book?

“My book is a crime fiction/mystery novel.”

– Do you have a specific writing routine?

“I wouldn’t call it a routine, but I always have to have my journal on hand. Ideas pop into my head throughout the whole day so I have to be prepared to write them down.”

– What are your current projects?

“Right now I’m just trying to juggle high school and my budding career!”

– What’s next for you?

“Hopefully more published books in the near future. I refuse to be a one-hit wonder!”

Sailor_Uncovered

MORE ABOUT KIT MILLER

Kit spends her free time reading, writing, taking Instagram-worthy photographs, and watching sports and documentaries on TV – particularly football, baseball, and anything about nature, respectively.

Her taste in books ranges from rugged westerns to inspirational memoirs to out-of-this-world fantasy, and everything in between. Among her favorite authors are: J.K. Rowling, Gary Paulsen, David Eddings, Mark Twain, William Shakespeare, Erin Hunter, and John Flanagan.

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH KIT MILLER

Facebook: www.facebook.com/KitMillerAuthor

Twitter: www.twitter.com/MooDeere

BUY LINK

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sailor-Uncovered-Kit-Miller/dp/1910530948/

Leave a Reply

