A.C. Greenlee talks about ‘What’s Done in the Dark’ and ‘Guardian of the Hellmouth’

INTERVIEW

A.C. Greenlee is a paranormal romance and fantasy author who mostly lives off coffee, chocolate and gummy bears.

“The rest of me just barely survives in a tangled up web of bossy characters, elaborate plotlines, half-truths and the insane need to write about the Vampire that’s lived in my closet since I was a little girl,” she told me in a fun chat we recently had.

A.C. Greenlee is an award-winning creator of paranormal romance, high fantasy and adventure novels. In 2012, Greenlee’s debut novel, Guardian of the Hellmouth, was released via Lillium Publishing House LLC and quickly became a fan favorite. With short stories and novellas like Her General Knows Best, Put the Gun Down and Werewolves are Diabolical published under the same house, she most recently dedicates her time to the completion of her manuscript, Genesis and its sequel Arise.

DragonsBanePromo

  • But who exactly is A.C. Greenlee?

“A.C. Greenlee is my name, but there’s an entire world of madness, romance and at times even horror just waiting to be uncovered.”

  • How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“Pursuing writing as a career wasn’t all that hard for me, honestly. As a child I was often punished for ‘lying’ to my mother about fantastical things that couldn’t possibly be true, or things that sounded so realistic my parents didn’t know whether or not to believe me. It was my grandmother who first realized that I wasn’t exactly lying, but was creating and telling them stories. I had more than an overactive imagination, she said, I lived in a fantasy world that would one day evolve into the novels I write today. Storytelling is one thing, getting the Mailman arrested for supposedly stuffing a kid into the back of his truck is on an entirely different level. I still don’t think poor Mr. Harris forgave me for that one.”

WDITDCover

  • Was getting published hard?

“I think there’s a degree of difficulty for everyone when it comes to publishing. I was lucky enough to stumble upon an agent who knew all the right things to say and all the best places to look. When my work was submitted to Lillium Publishing in 2012 I was nervous enough to hack up a lung, but when I got the congratulatory email welcoming me as a new author amongst their ranks, I shed tears of joy.”

  • Are your characters based on people you know?

“There’s a little piece of everyone I know, myself included, in my characters. But, decidedly, I don’t directly base my characters on the people in my life. If I have, they must have done something extremely terrible to me to suffer such a fate. I wouldn’t wish the lives of my characters on anyone.”

  • What genre are your books?

“I write a pretty wide range of genre fiction. My favorite, at the moment as this frequently changes, are romance, fantasy and adventure. I love spiraling tales of dashing, sexy as all get out heroes and feisty heroines who aren’t afraid to drop the F-bomb or smack someone over the head with a spiked bat. And I absolutely adore putting a new spin on paranormal characters like Vampires who are less brooding and sparkly and more ‘bad boy cop with a chip on his shoulder and a profound love of Italian coffee and expensive cars’.”

  • Which of your books is your favorite?

“My current work in progress, Genesis, has to be my favorite currently. This epic, urban fantasy novel takes Grim Reapers, Demons and a diabolical force hell bent on the destruction of the universe and charges a tiny, four foot eleven college student with stopping them. It’s a hell of a ride.”

WDITDPromo2

  • Do you have a specific writing routine?

“You mean besides drinking copious amounts of coffee that most mortals would overdose on? My main writing routine is to get up and write, despite the million or so distractions that crop up to throw me off track.”

  • What are your current projects?

“With What’s Done in the Dark finished and up for pre-order, I plan on finishing up the editing on Genesis and starting on the next book in that series entitled Arise.”

  • What’s next for you?

“More interviews I would hope. This has been a pleasant experience to say the least.”

wditdmockup

MORE ABOUT AUTHOR A.C. GREENLEE

With a B.F.A in Creative Writing and an M.F.A nearing it’s completion, A.C. is extremely enthusiastic about embarking on the quest of university level graphic design and just hopes she has enough poultices to see her through.

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH A.C. GREENLEE

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/booksbyacgreenlee

Personal Website: http://www.acgreenlee.com

Publishers Website: http://www.lilliumpublishing.tk

BUY LINK

What’s Done in the Dark Pre-Order: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015RTA9Q8

Leave a Reply

