Award nominated songwriter and composer M.Lachi on her new book ‘The Ivory Staff’

INTERVIEW

She is a published author and an award nominated songwriter and composer.

Her resume includes features on Oprah Radio, CBS Radio, The CW, Oxygen, and the E! and Style Networks among others. She lives in New York City with her life partner and enjoys reading, composing and catching live performances. Her first book The Ivory Staff was released a few days ago.

She’s known as M.Lachi but she also goes by Lachi.

So, I can’t help but asking her… What’s your name?

“Hey there!! Thanks for taking out the time to interview me!! What is my name? Very interestingly put question. Apart from my writing, I’ve also dabbled pretty heavily in songwriting, composition and performance. In the music realm I go by Lachi, a strong-willed, empowering performer proclaiming uplifting messages of endurance and overcoming despite short-comings and obstacles. Within the writing realm I go by M. Lachi. Presently, the M stands for ‘meta,’ as M. Lachi writes empowering novels containing protagonists who seek to endure and overcome despite their many short-comings and obstacles.”

lachi_looking_out_of_the_window

  • How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“Since a very young age I’d been an eager writer. My grasp on and love for writing came before my passion for music matured. Grabbing printer paper, stapling them together and handwriting comics and picture books amid the pages flood my childhood memories. A bit of a social outcast, I took heavily to fiction writing and song composition instead of playing outside. I wrote shorts, plays, poems, songs. One day I sat at a computer in my high school library and randomly started typing a story. I continued this almost every day during lunch for a year, and lo and behold, I wrote my first novella.”

  • Was getting published hard?

“The real hard part is writing the book. Writing a query letter is so subjective, one couldn’t really call it hard. Querying agents and publishers is more busy-work than hard work. I sent out dozens of queries to agents with varying degrees of success. However, once I switched gears and sent letters directly to publishers, I received much greater interest, to the point where I was able to choose from a couple of publishers! Everyone will have different experiences; nonetheless.”

  • Are your characters based on people you know?

“Yes and no! Though the characters are not based on any particular people I’ve encountered, according to Descartes Meditations, one can only imagine things based on what he or she has previously perceived. Therefore, my characters are a resultant amalgamation of the many people I’ve encountered and grew close to during my trips to Africa and Europe, the fictional characters I’ve grown close to in the books and movies I’ve imbibed, and most importantly a meta-twinkle of myself.”

The_ivory_staff

  • What genre is your book?

The Ivory Staff is listed under Fantasy. It’s a Low Fantasy harboring princes, kings, queens, ritual power, and throne battles. However, I like to call it a Dark Fairy Tale, as it juxtaposes juvenile innocence with a brewing darkness.”

  • What’s next for you?

“I am currently working on three other novels and a book of shorts all with a whimsied-tinge of thought-experiment and modern-day soul-magic. As someone who spends a good deal of time in my own head, world-balding and character-creating, I’m excited to share these experiments and concepts with others, readers, thinkers, experiencers. To me, a novel is a way of saying, “Hey you, random Goodreads user in Milwaukee! Let me know what you think about this random though exercise I’ve been puzzling through. Here is wrapped in a madlibbed setting (who’s blanks are filled with characters and plot twists), printed onto pages and bound in a book.”

THE IVORY STAFF
A Dark Fairy Tale Of Kings And War

How was young Samiyah to know that her simple grace, wit, and beauty exceptional traits given her peasant class would land her in the middle of a chessboard of high-level political turmoil or that the love that blinds politics, the hate that blinds brotherhood, and the lust that blinds love would flip that chessboard on its side? Rife with passionate dialog, edgy suspense, and epic conflict, this Dark Fairy Tale follows our heroine as she journeys to heal a nation broken by the internal prejudices of class warfare, armed with nothing but stark determination.

BUY LINK

http://www.amazon.com/Ivory-Staff-Dark-Fairy-Kings-ebook/dp/B0157GPFGA/

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH M. LACHI

Website

www.mlachi.com

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/mlachiauthor

Twitter

http://www.twitter.com/mlachiauthor

Leave a Reply

