Lisa Kopel on her debut novel ‘Tango’s Tales’

INTERVIEW

Lisa Kopel is a really fun person to chat with and every conversation with her is a delight.

“For as long as I can remember, I have had a very busy mind. I think way too much; I just can’t seem to turn it off. Luckily, I found running at an early age. Running has saved my life on more than one occasion. It helps quiet my mind. Clears the deck of bad juju and opens the door to creativity. Ideas for stories come to me when I run,” Lisa told me when I asked her to describe herself.

A few months ago Lisa Kopel celebrated the release of her book ‘Tango’s Tales’.

“With Tango’s Tales, I have come up with a rather unconventional “anti” heroine. She screws up. She is often unsure and doesn’t always learn from her mistakes. But she is also fearless, passionate, fun loving, optimistic and fiercely independent,” says Lisa.

FullSizeRender-5

  • How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“It wasn’t a conscious decision.  I’ve been writing for years – mostly poetry but a bunch of prose as well.  Just bits of random musings I’d jot down and stuff in a shoebox.  After a couple of years, the shoebox was full.  That’s when I thought that maybe I had a book.”

  • Are your characters based on people you know?

“Absolutely! But all names have been changed to protect the not-so-innocent.”

  • What genre is your book?

“Sexy humor. My editor wanted to market Tango’s Tales as Erotica, so we did. However, I never thought of my book that way. Yes, there’s a lot of sex…but the main character isn’t a typical Erotica heroine. You know, with the flowing mane of hair and perfect body who is seduced by an equally beautiful, filthy rich man. And the sex isn’t mind-blowingly transformative. Tango is a real woman with normal looks and neuroses and flaws, as are her suitors.”

moi 1

  • Do you have a specific writing routine?

“99% of my ideas come to me when I’m out for a run, listening to the Beatles on my iPod. The minute I get home, I hand write the ideas on the back of an envelope, or on an old take-out menu, which I then throw in a box.  With Tango’s Tales, when the box was full, I dumped out all those bits of paper and played with them, like pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. It took awhile, but finally I had a book.”

photo 3

  • What are your current projects?

“I’m training for a Thanksgiving Day 5k and also putting together my second book, Cake for Dessert, which is a compilation of sexy poetry.”

  • What’s next for you?

“As always, trying my best to maintain my sanity. If I’m able to accomplish that, everything else, I’m sure, will fall into place. Fingers and toes crossed.”

Screen Shot 2015-08-11 at 1.33.00 PM

TANGO’S TALES

I definitely run on a different frequency than most. I don’t hide behind small talk, and I’ll usually go wherever my mind takes me. Tango-La can be fun, but it can also be in your face and very, very real. To make the journey one must be willing to embrace the seemingly unbelievable, and yes. . .sometimes. . .even the absurd.

Meet Tango, a middle-aged woman who is holding up extremely well. Petite and slender with red hair and green eyes, she is a voracious consumer of life’s more decadent experiences. After a four-year drought, Tango knows exactly what she wants: sex. And she is not about to apologize for getting what she wants, when she wants and with whom she wants.

On the hunt for some purely sexual connections in a world where “nice girls” should want the fairy tale (instead of just some tail), Tango is not afraid to push the boundaries and live her life to the fullest, most satisfying and pulse pounding limits.
Told in short stories, brief narratives, blog entries and advice columns, Tango’s Tales is a wild voyeuristic journey into the experiences of a promiscuous free spirit and her randy, raunchy and rebellious alter ego. Now proudly dedicated to the exploration of her rapidly emerging sexuality, Tango is a force of nature. Her insight into her selection of suitors is both funny and revealing. Tango’s Tales is an erotic trip with a lady feeding her hunger for that special feeling.

BUY LINKS

http://www.amazon.com/Tangos-Tales-Lisa-Kopel-ebook/dp/B0129SPPKA

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26008522-tango-s-tales?ac=1

http://bookstore.iuniverse.com/Products/SKU-001002197/Tangos-Tales.aspx

KEEP IN CONTACT WITH LISA KOPEL

https://www.facebook.com/tangos.tales

tangostales.weebly.com

https://twitter.com/KopelLisa

https://authorcentral.amazon.com/gp/profile

Leave a Reply

