Isabella “Izzy” Church on her book ‘Angry Movie Guy’ and her amazing career in film and television industry

INTERVIEW

I love books. And I love movies. So how couldn’t I love a book about an awkward film reviewer who falls in love with a fiery filmmaker while a lewd producer unrelentingly plots against the budding romance?

This is what Angry Movie Guy by Isabella “Izzy” Church is about.

Born in Sacramento, California, Izzy Church is focused on writing for film and television, as well as songwriting. Izzy began her career as an actress/model in New York City. While in New York she attended Marymount Manhattan College graduating Summa Cum Laude, specializing in writing for film and television. To further her writing career she interned and later worked for DreamWorks in the books to film department. Additionally, Izzy pursued acting with several of the top-acting instructors in the country. Currently, Izzy is living and working as an actress, improviser, and artist in New York City. She is also the head of a boutique Media Development Company called, Third Culture Creative where she develops film, television and animation content.

Recently I had the pleasure to have a little chat with Izzy and the chance to find out what an interesting person she is…

Izzy_Church_Bio_Pic

  • How did you decided to pursue a writing career?

“I began storytelling, at an early age and performing on stage as an actress, musician, and dancer. Although it may sound strange, performing in front of a live audience really helped me to develop my skills as a writer. Later, when I decided to make the big move to NY to pursue acting/modeling… it really opened up my world and my eyes as a writer. However, it wasn’t until college that I decided to pursue writing professionally. I graduated from MaryMount Manhattan with a degree in Communication Arts, specializing in writing for film and television. This gave me a solid base as a writer and I was able to transfer those skills to numerous performance pieces and see my writing come to life on stage, on screen, and now as a novelist.”

  • Was getting published hard?

“I was actually approached by a boutique-publishing house and asked to write: Angry Movie Guy. We later decided to go our separate ways and I published with Square Monkey Publishing. Nevertheless, they’re early interest in my writing career gave me the encouragement to complete my debut novel: Angry Movie Guy.”

  • Are your characters based on people you know?

“These characters are entirely fictional, but they feel like real people because they have clear wants and needs. Their stories are personal and yet relatable, which creates a comfortable familiarity with types the audience somewhat already knows.”

  • What genre is your book?

Angry Movie Guy, is a film industry romantic comedy novel.”

“Writing is a dirty business, and that’s exactly
why I love it. I’ve been getting my hands
grubby with it ever since I was old enough to
pick up a pencil and spell my name”

  • Which of your books is your most favorite?

“This is my debut novel, so I guess at this time, it’s my favorite.”

  • Do you have a specific writing routine?

“I try to write everyday for an hour, but sometimes that hour turns into an all day affair.

That’s a good day… when I can pound a couple chapters out or at least the beginnings of a new screenplay.”

  • What are your current projects?

“Currently, I’m working on a satirical animation T.V. series titled, Suffer Club. I am also, working on a new romantic comedy novel.”

  • What’s next for you?

“There are a lot of irons in the fire, so the best way to keep up to date with what I have going on next is to follow me on my social feeds and my websites: angrymovieguy.com & izzychurch.com.

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH IZZY CHURCH

angrymovieguy.com

izzychurch.com

Twitter: IzzyChurch222

Facebook: IzzyChurch

Instagram: ListentoIzzyChurch (watch for free Angry Movie Guy swag!)

Instagram: Angry Movie Guy

angrymovieguy

ANGRY MOVIE GUY

“A fast-paced, sometimes slapstick, film
industry novel with a vibrant cast of
characters.”
Kirkus Review

 

Angry Movie Guy is rich with suspense,
romance and just a touch of the
supernatural. Izzy’s style is engaging and her
imagination is boundless. Angry Movie Guy
does not disappoint!
D.Ibrhahim

Angry Movie Guy is a romantic comedy novel. Its star, Charlie Zimmerman, a explosive
movie reviewer. Zimmerman’s early career is stagnate, and the only way he keeps it
afloat is to adopt a new persona. He becomes a sensationalist, shock-jock style writer,
known for acerbic wit and biting reviews on any and all films. This sees his meteoric rise
but in the end it could cost him his love interest in Alexa.
The book also features Harry, the antagonist set on keeping the two lovers apart no matter
what the cost. Harry’s is the producer of Charles’s show and his goal – maintain the
show by any means necessary up to and including bad publicity.
“I wanted to create a film industry novel” said Izzy Church, “This way people can finish
my book thinking how great a movie it would make.”
Church’s book will be on store shelves and available via download on February 14th,
2016.

 

This story was a reminder Philip K. Dick and
Borges with twists of consciousness and odd
realities. There was a quirky charm to the
characters and events flew by in a fictional
strobe lit haze. Angry Movie is a must read!
C. Perkins

Angry Movie Guy is LOL humor equipped
with characters you both love and loathe.
M. Larini

BUY LINK

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0996499504

2 thoughts on “Isabella “Izzy” Church on her book ‘Angry Movie Guy’ and her amazing career in film and television industry

Leave a Reply

