Successful author and entrepreneur Tasher on ‘Divorced and Scared No More’

INTERVIEW

Today we are excited to share with you our interview with Tasher, an American author and entrepreneur. Tasher along with co-author Tony Haynes published a 3 book series called ‘Divorced and Scared No More’. The main objective of this book series was to help in dealing with a divorce.

Tasher was divorced on her 26th wedding anniversary. Her marriage was broken all to pieces, however she was not going to let the divorce break her. Tasher quickly discovered that single life was very different from all those years ago. Like many, she initially was scared. Yet she was determined to become Divorce and Scared NO More!

After moving to Houston and despite her dyslexia, she decided to share with others things she learned while rebuilding her life. The launch of DASNM.com quickly received a worldwide following and Tasher became a frequent contributor to various online magazines.

Tasher_Headshot

–          But who exactly is Tasher?

“I was born in Flint, Michigan to Mary and Houston Asher. I have one older brother named C. Robert Asher. I am a country and city girl.  Our family lived on a farm that to this day still is a dirt road in Linden, Michigan until I was in middle school. At which time my family moved to the suburbs of Flint so my parents could be closer to the factories they worked in.  Mom worked for Chevrolet at the Metal Fab plant and Dad worked in Buick City on the North end.”

 

–          What have your challenges been having Dyslexia?

“I suffered from undiagnosed dyslexia until my high school teacher, Ms. Burdick recognized the symptoms and sent me for diagnoses. Ms. Burdick had a big impact forming my view of the reading disorder. She taught me how to use various strategies and techniques along with technical aids to help with the management of dyslexia. Within a short time, she taught me how it really was a gift that I just needed to learn to control.”

 

–          Did you really graduate college in 4 years while getting 3 degrees?

“After learning to control my gift my grades quickly improved and I graduated Ainsworth high school with a scholarship.  I attended Northwood University in Midland, Michigan did graduate in four years with three degrees.  They were Business management, Advertising and Automotive Marketing.  Upon graduation I was hired by General Motors Corporation in their Memphis Zone.  I really don’t look at dyslexia as a challenge it is rather my gift.  Once I learned to control it I excelled very quickly.”

Once I learned to control it
I excelled very quickly

 

–          How did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“I have dyslexia and writing is something everyone told me I couldn’t do especially my ex.  So after my divorced and with the encouragement of friends, family and my divorce attorney, I decided it was time to try.”

3_Book_Stacked

–          Tell us a little about your married life?

“I married my ex-husband on January 14, 1984 in Columbus, Mississippi. We had 3 children together.  He was a pilot in the USAF and relocated from Columbus Mississippi to San Antonio Texas. At which time I decided to quit my job as a district manager for General Motors Parts Division and became a stay at home mother. Our family lived in Memphis, Tennessee, Subic Bay, Philippines, and Boulder City, Nevada. My ex and I divorced on our twenty-sixth wedding anniversary January 14, 2010.”

 

–          What inspired you to write the Divorce and Scared No More series and start the website?

“I was not going to let the divorce break me. I decided to share with others the things I learned while rebuilding my life.  After moving to Houston, I launched the website and became a frequent contributor to various online magazines. I wanted to create something for people to take the ideas and either accept or reject them to fit in their personal situation. No two people will have identical situations, but in time, my hope is that with the shared experiences they can help guide others through this time in their life with the least amount of trepidation. Along with co-author Tony Haynes we published a 3 book series called ‘Divorced and Scared No More’. The main objective of this book series was to help in dealing life after divorce in the same manner the website has done. Hopefully to reduce the fear and anxiety in the lives of the recently divorced. Therapist and clinical author Justin Nutt, LSCSW, LAC, was consulted as a technical advisor for the series.”

The main objective of this book series
was to help in dealing life after divorce

 

–          How did you get so much information and stories? How do people react when they read about themselves?

“As I started sharing my experiences, others in-turn shared some of their stories. Many have allowed me to share those experiences, but out of respect for their privacy, and anyone that I have written about, some of the information in the stories have been changed. The intent of the website and books is to share while making sure everyone is comfortable, and without fear of reprisals.  Most of the people I have written about have approved of the text before it was published to make sure they are fine with what I have written.”

dasnm_series_collage20160430

 

–          My take on the series is the first book is about healing and the second is about as the title says practical advice.  Both have various topics in the books.  The third book is fun and about dating.  Why did you decide to write the whole book about just how to date?

“After my divorce and healing was accomplished, I decided to date.  Very quickly I discovered that single life was very different from all those years ago. There was not an internet back then, and cell phones didn’t exist. Like many, I initially was scared to date and online dating scared me to death.  I decided to treat dating like I would a business adventure.  I set up a plan of how to date yet continue to keep myself and my family safe.  The third book has all of the information on how to be a perspicacious dater.”

perspicacious
[pur-spi-key-shuh s]

 

–          What is a perspicacious dater?

“While dating after my divorce, I wanted to be discerning, have keen mental perception, vision and understanding in my dating. The word that sums all those attributes up is perspicacious [pur-spi-key-shuh s]. It is time to learn a new word and a new way to date.”

 

–          How did you come up with the title?

“The name of the series as a continuation of the website.  The name for the website is to help people understand there is no reason to be scared post-divorce.  Now is the time to make your life yours and do what you want.  Create a life where you are in control and if you need help look to your higher power to forge the new life you will enjoy.”

Create a life
where you are in control

 

–          What genre is your books?

“The series is for self-help in dealing with life after divorce and dating.”

DASNM_logo200

–          The logo is very interesting; how did you come up it?

“The logo for the website and books is a broken set of pilot wings.  My ex-husband was a pilot and when they get their first set of wings in the USAF they break them in half and give one half to someone they love and the other half is thrown away. The point is those wings will never come together again.  Just like our marriage after the divorce.”

 

–          What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

“My daughter and two grandchildren live in the Houston area by me and my spare time is enjoying watching the wee ones’ activities.  My family is my world and I enjoy as much time with them as I can have.”

Writing is something
everyone told me
I couldn’t do
especially my ex

 

–          What influenced your interest in writing?

“I have always enjoyed telling stories but since I have dyslexia spelling and grammar are NOT my strong suit.    Writing is something everyone told me I couldn’t do especially my ex.  So after my divorce and with the encouragement of friends, family and my divorce attorney, I decided it was time to try.”

 

–          What tips or words of encouragement do you have for other writers?

“No matter what your challenge is while writing stick with your passion.  Do not listen to others that say you can’t…….if they say that to you think to yourself wanna bet!  You can do anything you want to do but be prepared that you may have to work a little harder or find tools that can help you.”

You can do anything you want to do
but be prepared that
you may have to work
a little harder

 

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH TASHER

Website: http://divorcedandscarednomore.com/

or  http://dasnm.com/

Pick up your copy of each of the books in the
Divorce & Scared No More series now

Book 1 Divorced and Scared No More!: Emotional Support for the Newly Divorced

emotionalsupport
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=as_ss_li_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=divandscanomo-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1498465854&asins=1498465854&linkId=79c937c232886f5f9d4ff9ae31d2cdad&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Book 2 Divorced and Scared No More!: Practical Advice for the Newly Divorced

practicaladvice
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=as_ss_li_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=divandscanomo-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1498465102&asins=1498465102&linkId=c0024f6be1bd38cb51b54003dd5110cf&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Book 3 Divorced and Scared No More!: Dating after Divorce From Lemons to Zesty Lemon Sorbet

datingafterdivorce
//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ss&ref=as_ss_li_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=divandscanomo-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=1498465129&asins=1498465129&linkId=cadb2defb1da46f5e7aff6581a79a1fe&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

Leave a Reply

