SUCCESFUL MUSICIAN, VLOGGER, AUTHOR: AYDIN GUNER ON HIS NEW HIT BOOK ‘THE DEVIL AND I’

INTERVIEW

Aydin Guner has emerged onto the scene with one of the most exciting, exhilarating novels of 2016. ‘The Devil in I’ is a regular Amazon Top 100 seller and has already garnered interest from Hollywood. This edgy, sexy and unapologetically bold story challenges the status quo and tackles themes everyone can relate to. Unrequited Love, Good vs Evil, Morality, Sex and Paranoia all on a stunning New York backdrop.

Aydin is from the North of England and is a self-proclaimed whiskey lover. Aside from writing, he plays guitar for the band Revenant Dead and is an active vlogger and spokesman for narcissistic abuse. Aydin’s book ‘Behind The Mask: An Introduction Into Covert Narcissism’ is also available on Amazon Kindle.

Having watched Aydin’s YouTube videos on the subject of narcissism, I couldn’t wait to read his books. I was captivated by the engaging storyline with biblical references in The Devil and I’ so I was beyond happy when Aydin accepted to have a little chat with me.

When asked about his inspiration to write, Aydin simply said, “to push the envelope and see where it takes me. There’s nothing more therapeutic than being immersed in a story. I don’t think the creative world is taking enough risks. Life’s too short.”

AydinGuner

Here is what we talked about…

–       Aydin, how did you decide to pursue a writing career?

“I never intended on being a writer initially. I have always been a musician and that was always my passion. But ever since I was a kid I’ve had a fascination with books like ‘Paradise Lost’ and Dante’s ‘Inferno’, and movies like ‘Devil’s Advocate’ and ‘The Omen’. I always imagined what it’d be like if The Devil really did walk on Earth and what that would look like. The general feeling, I had, was he’d be so evil no one would notice him. No one could outsmart or out charm him. He could make the deadliest of street gangs giggling like school boys in minutes. So I guess that’s the general thesis and that’s the story I wanted to tell.”

The Devil in I

– Are your characters based on people you know?

“A few people have asked me if Damon is based on me, and my best friend thought he was Jason from the Vegas scene. But in truth no one real is in this book. If there is anyone loosely based on anyone, it was Latasha – the manipulative office vixen. Her character is narcissistic but also very covert. I’ve encountered this before so it was fascinating to explore that character trait.”

–       What genre is your book?

“I’d say it’s a mix of things. It’s so fast paced, there’s drama, romance, crime, psychological thriller, even some adult scenes in there. There’s something for everyone in this book.”

Did you have a specific writing routine?

“I wish I did, but I didn’t. The ‘Devil in I’ took 4 years to write. A lot of it was therapeutic for me, I wrote when I was feeling down and depressed. Writing this story was a real escape for me. If there was a pattern, I’d say it was late at night. I’m more creative in the early hours of the morning. Between 2 and 5am.”

mask

What are your current projects?

“I’m currently writing the screenplay for ‘The Devil in ‘I, which is exciting. I’m also promoting my other book ‘Behind The Mask: An Introduction Into Covert Narcissism’, which is a psychology kindle book.”

What’s next for you?

“Things have been a bit of a whirlwind since the release of the book, but I’ m launching my website soon which will have all my content on there. The ‘Devil in I’ screenplay is being written so hopefully we can see that on the big screen at some point. I also hope to do some book fairs in the UK and meet book fans. I really appreciate the support from everyone.”

 

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH AYDINGUNER

Www.twitter.com/aydinguner66

www.twitter.com/narcsupport101

Www.facebook.com/aydinguner66

BUY LINKS

The Devil and I

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1533200696/

Behind The Mask: An Introduction Into Covert Narcissism

https://www.amazon.com/Behind-Mask-Introduction-Covert-Narcissism-ebook/dp/B01ECNSI7W/

Leave a Reply

