AUTHOR A.J. KING ON MAGIC, MYSTERY AND ‘THE POWER VESTED IN ME, BOOK 1, THE GATHERERS, VOLUME 1’

INTERVIEW

“A mysterious white haired man materialises one night in the nursery of a maternity ward. He projects lights from his hands on to some of the sleeping babies and then vanishes in to thin air, completely unnoticed.”

As soon as I read those lines, I knew I wanted to read ‘The Power Vested In Me, Book 1, The Gatherers: Volume 1’.

And the moment I reached the last page, I knew I wanted to know more about author A.J.King. I wanted to know about the author whose debut novel would excite those who love mystery and magic.

I was very happy when A.J. King accepted to have a little chat with me and the first thing I asked was….

bw_yellow_gloves

–          Who exactly is A.J. King?

“I am A J King. I was once told that I disrespected my readers by not telling them anything about myself. So here are the headlines of my life. I have a degree in Counter Fraud and Criminal Justice, I’m a first Dan and former martial arts instructor, I studied photography and design and ran my own photography business before becoming a civil servant. I have worked on the photo-finish in a grey hound track (scary job because the punters would lynch you if you made an error – I’ve been at the top of a ‘tree-house’ with people shaking its legs). I have two virtually grown up children – (who would tell you I haven’t grown up yet) and being a mother has to have been the proudest and most important role in my life. Also when I was 8 I won a Blue Peter badge (anyone from the UK will know this is a big deal).”

–          Tell us about when you had your book published

“To mark a ‘special’ birthday last year (although I’m told they’re all special as it’s better than the alternative) I lost 4 stone and had the first part of my trilogy The Power Vested in Me (book 1 is called the Gatherers) published. I had hoped to get it published at the end of October on my actual birthday, but some technical hitches meant it was actually published mid December.”

 

–          Are your characters based on people you know?

“Yes, each character is usually a mixture of two or three people I have known. I was slightly concerned that some people would be offended that a character was based on them, but strangely no one has actually recognised themselves in these characters. Although other people have recognised them as a particular character (not sure what this says about self awareness) and people have identified with some characters who they are convinced are based on them and are not.

Also little experiences I have had and been told about by others have been woven into the fabric of the story. There is much more of this in book two.”

–          Highlight of having the book published…

“There have been two highlights. Firstly, when Toby the illustrator first showed me the cover and I saw all the children, that had previously only existed in my mind’s eye, actually in front of me on a page exactly as I had imagined them.  Secondly when I held the first hard copy of the book in my hands.”

–          Were there any surprises?

“The different things that people have taken from the book have surprised me. The response to the characters, has been amazing. I had expected the question that most people would ask me at the end of the book was ‘who is Starkey?’ (which is the mystery that runs throughout) but the question I am constantly asked is –when is book 2 coming?”

–          So when is Book 2 coming?

“I am frantically working on book 2 atm having said in another interview it will be ready by the end of the year. It has grown and grown and will be two volumes, part one and part two. Like the first book half of the story is in reality and half is in fantasy, although book 1’s fantasy bit was through time travel and Book 2’s fantasy is through dreams so totally make believe. The fantasy stories are much more indepth than I had planned, thus the need for two volumes. Karen, who I work with, has kindly donated the word ‘Ping!’ to me – without which it would be three volumes (you’ll have to read it to see what I mean).”

–          What’s next for you?

“In Book 2 it states one of the characters has written a book of poems. I intend to publish my poems as this book and this will coincide with the publishing of Book two Volume two.”

51jP8-rQj5L._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

The Power Vested In Me Book 1 The Gatherers: Volume 1

 

ARE YOU INTERESTED IN TIME TRAVEL, MYSTICAL MAGIC AND ADVENTURE?
Join the ‘Stardust’ to test your intuition, solve riddles and full fill the quests A mysterious white haired man materialises one night in the nursery of a maternity ward. He projects lights from his hands on to some of the sleeping babies and then vanishes in to thin air, completely unnoticed. Thirteen years later the five babies, who are now teenagers, win a competition, which none of them can remember entering. When arriving to collect their prize they are greeted by the mysterious white haired man. He appears to know all about them and the ‘secret powers’ he says he bestowed on them. He asks for their help, his request is that they go on a series of quests for him, quests that involve time travel, danger and a little bit of magic. So…..

  • Who is this man?
  • Why has he chosen these children?
  • What does he want with the items they gather on the quests?

ALL WILL BE REVEALED IN THE FULLNESS OF TIME! (Unless you work it out first)

So grab a copy today.

BUY LINK

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Power-Vested-Me-Book-Gatherers/dp/1519509634/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1472041307&sr=8-1&keywords=the+power+vested+in+me

AUTHOR BIO

A J King started writing as a child with the desire to be the next John Boy Walton. The latter desire soon faded but the desire to write never did. In previous lifetimes they have been a martial arts instructor, a photographer and worked on the photo finish in the greyhound track. Currently they live in Swansea in Wales (the birth place of Dylan Thomas) UK with their two teenage children and a punchbag called Wolf.

KEEP IN TOUCH WITH A. J. KING

 http://www.thepowervestedinme.com/

Leave a Reply

